The University of Alabama Trivia Book

Are you a trivia buff? A history buff? Interested in little known information about the University of Alabama? Admittedly, under normal circumstances I would only answer “yes” to two out of those three questions. But these aren’t normal circumstances.

The University of Alabama Trivia Book was written and compiled by cousin, Jessica. The great thing about Jessica is that even though she is much smarter than me, she has never gone out of her way to make me feel stupid. It’s because of that—and because she’s a great cook—that I love her so much. And because I love her so much, I gave The University of Alabama Trivia Book a chance, when under any other set of circumstances, I wouldn’t have bothered.

Thanks to Jessica, I now know more about UA and the city of Tuscaloosa than I ever wanted to know. Timothy “LSD” Leary was enrolled at UA in 1941. Harper Lee, the famed author of To Kill a Mockingbird, is an alumnus of UA. Former UA student Jan Johnson won a bronze medal in pole vaulting at the 1972 Olympic Games in Munich. The first bridge to span the Black Warrior River, which runs between Tuscaloosa and Northport, was built in 1834 by a slave named Horace King, who was later freed in 1846, and went on to become a famed bridge builder in Alabama and Georgia.

Now I’ll admit that I was a bit jealous that Jessica beat me to the punch by having a book published before me, but that doesn’t change the fact that she has done a great job. Support her hard work and increase your knowledge base by buying the book.

And here’s a bit of trivia about Jessica, that I’m sure she doesn’t want anyone knowing: when we were teenagers we went to see George Romero’s zombie classic Day of the Dead, and she got so freaked out she left the theater.

 

http://rcm.amazon.com/e/cm?t=bamo-20&o=1&p=8&l=as1&asins=1588181162&fc1=000000&IS2=1&lt1=_blank&lc1=0000FF&bc1=000000&bg1=FFFFFF&f=ifr

One Response to “The University of Alabama Trivia Book”

  1. cousinjes Says:

    What my dear cousin didn’t mention is that I do in fact *love* zombies, perhaps more than most. But primarily on paper and stills. You’ll never let that little piece of trivia die about me running out of the theater, will you??? Brains! Brains!!

Leave a Reply

