T-Shirt of the Week: WEEK 15

tsotw-button-3b.jpgSome people believe you can tell a lot about a person by the shoes they wear. I believe you can tell more about a person by the t-shirts they have worn. This is the story of my life, as told by the t-shirts I have worn.

WEEK 15: This week’s installment of T-Shirt of the Week is going to be both short, and shamelessly self-promotional. My apologies in advance to all of those who look forward to my long-winded, rambling exercises in self-indulgence.

tsotw-week-15.jpg

Here we have what I call the “Apes Protest” shirt, which I designed myself. For those of you that have never paid attention to the button on the right side of the screen, I actually have a line of BadAzz MoFo shirts that I designed and sell through the deviants at Rotten Cotton. (I also have an entire line of shirts I designed and sold myself about 15 years ago, but that’s a story for another time.)

Several years ago, when the war in Iraq first started, I was messing around with ideas that I could use to express how I felt about what was going on. Originally, I was going to design a simple e-card that could be sent to people over the Internet. I was having a hard time coming up with something that expressed how I felt about the war, that also reflected the overall BadAzz MoFo philosophy. At some point, I got the idea to use an image from Beneath the Planet of the Apes. For those of you that have never seen the sequel to the original Planet of the Apes, there is an entire sequence where a group of chimpanzees are protesting a war the gorillas are preparing to wage. It was all this thinly veiled metaphor for the war that was then being waged in Vietnam. I thought if I could find the right image, it would be perfect for the idea I was trying to convey. Well, I never found just the right image, but this one came close.

Once I worked a little magic, I had something I was happy with. At first I had the BadAzz MoFo logo as part of the design, but that never worked for me. I realized that I didn’t want the shirt to be about anything other than protesting war. And that’s how this shirt came into being.

You can get “Apes Peace” shirt exclusively at Rotten Cotton. Go to the “Rotten Clothing,” and from there go to the “Horror, Cult & Exploitation” section.

Leave a Reply

