T-Shirt of the Week: WEEK 23

tsotw-button-3b.jpgSome people believe you can tell a lot about a person by the shoes they wear. I believe you can tell more about a person by the t-shirts they have worn. This is the story of my life, as told by the t-shirts I have worn.

WEEK 23: Well folks, I must admit that this week I’m just not feeling up to doing T-Shirt of the Week. Don’t take it personally, because it has nothing to do with any of you, and everything to do with me. So, instead of writing about the odd history and deep meaning of any one shirt, I am simply going to feature a gallery of shirts from my Fishbone collection. Since I featured a Fishbone shirt in WEEK 20, I don’t really need to explain the band, or what they mean to me.

tsotw-week-23a.jpg

For nearly ten years I had dreadlocks (by the time I cut them off they were down to my waist). My dreads were so big that it was impossible to wear hats. At some point I came up with the idea to use t-shirts as a sort of hair wrap—almost like an over-sized bandana. It’s a bit hard to explain, but I would put my hair through the top of the shirt, and tie of the sleeves in the back. The front of the shirt would be facing out. It sounds weird, but it looked cool (at least in the early and mid 1990s when I was doing it). The shirts above and below were two of the main ones I used as hair wraps.

tsotw-week-23c.jpg

tsotw-week-23b.jpg

Who knows where I got this shirt? Maybe at a concert? Maybe at Hot Topic?

tsotw-week-23d.jpg

This is one of my favorite Fishbone shirts. Although you can’t see it in this picture, there are stains on the front. I’m pretty sure the stains are from blood. Honestly, I don’t recall how the stains got there.

Leave a Reply

