T-Shirt of the Week: WEEK 24

tsotw-button-1.jpgSome people believe you can tell a lot about a person by the shoes they wear. I believe you can tell more about a person by the t-shirts they have worn. This is the story of my life, as told by the t-shirts I have worn.

WEEK 24: The decision to start T-Shirt of the Week came about one Sunday afternoon while I was rummaging through a storage closet, and stumbled across a bunch of old t-shirts that I hadn’t worn in many years. I was going to donate them all to charity, but it seemed like every shirt had a story associated with it, and I just couldn’t get rid of any of them. And that’s how this column got started.

tsotw-week-24.jpg

Over the last few months, I’ve gone through a ton of shirts, trying to find just the right ones to tell stories about my life. I have found t-shirts that are literally twenty and thirty years old. But what is interesting is that some of the shirts that mean the most to me are the ones that I have had the least amount of time. Back in the very first installment of this column, I wrote about a shirt from the documentary Darius Goes West. Now, nearly six months later, I am featuring another shirt from DGW. The shirt says, “I am the 13th crew member.”

Basically, Darius Goes West is about a group of young men who journey cross country with the their friend Darius, who is confined to a wheelchair by Duchene Muscular Dystrophy (DMD), with the hopes of getting him on MTV’s Pimp My Ride, so they will trick out his wheelchair. There were twelve people on the crew that drove from Athens, Georgia, to California and back again. Having met most of the twelve, I can say they rank amongst the most incredible people I have ever met.

In order to get a 13th Crew Member shirt, you either have to donate $1000 to Charley’s Fund—the non-profit organization that is committed to curing or treating DMD—or, as the Darius Goes West website says, you have to do “some other amazing act on behalf of DGW and DMD research.”

I wish I could say I was able to afford the shirt, which would make it the most expensive shirt I own. Instead I managed to earn it by showing Darius Goes West at the film festival I used to run, and for helping organize a fundraiser for Charley’s Fund. Honestly, if I could have done more, I would have, as DGW remains one of the most profound movies I have ever seen in my life.

Darius Goes West is getting ready to come out on DVD in the next few weeks. I will be writing about it more once that happens. I am encouraging everyone to buy at least two copies. One of those copies you will keep for yourself, the other you will give to someone you care about dearly. Then that person should buy two copies, which they will then give to two people the care about dearly. All of the proceeds from sales of the disc (as well as the shirts) goes to Charely’s Fund, so it will be money well spent.

Leave a Reply

