Obama Wins Iowa

barack-obama.jpgSenator Barack Obama has won the Iowa caucus. Don’t ask me what that means, because I have never really understood how any of these things work. Just when I thought I had the American electoral system figured out, along comes the 2000 Presidential Election, which proved that you can win, and still lose. Personally, I figured Iowa would go to Clinton, Edwards and Obama, in that order. But I was wrong. It does happen from time to time.

I’m not going to spend a lot of time writing about Obama, because I’ve already done that. You can read my thoughts by clicking here. I will say that the Iowa victory is a pleasant surprise, but so was Denzell Washington and Halle Berry winning Oscars on the same night. And when push comes to shove, I don’t think those victories meant that much. Still, Obama’s victory in Iowa proves that at least in that state, at this moment in time, there are Americans who are truly ready for a change. It remains to be seen if the rest of America is ready enough for a change so drastic it elects either Obama of Clinton the next President of the United States. Honestly, I’m skeptical. The pragmatist in me sees Obama or Clinton as a likely candidate for vice-president, running along side Edwards as president. Who knows? We shall see soon enough.

Leave a Reply

