MoFo TeeVee – Monotonix Live in P-Town 9/5/2008

I started going to live music shows when I was 17 years-old, and though I’m not sure how many I’ve seen over the years, it wouldn’t be a surprise if it was well over 1000. And in that time I’ve seen some incredible things, but I don’t think I’ve ever seen any as insane as Israeli punk band Monotonix. They were playing last night at Musicfest Northwest, here in Portland, and I decided to check them out. Holy crap!!!! This picture was taken by my friend Geoff Kleinman, who was in the middle of the pit (see more photos here). I captured some of the show on video.

Monotonix was playing at Satyricon, the legendary Portland club that was one of my regular haunts from the late 1980s until the mid 1990s. Apparently, Monotonix is famous for not playing on stage, but actually performing on the main floor, surrounded by the audience. This first video (poorly) captures a sense of the insanity at the show. Note that the guitar player is the only band member on the stage, and he is surrounded by the audience.

This second video is outside Satyricon. Somehow, the show started in the club, and eventually spilled out into the street. The band’s vocalist ended up in tree. Seriously. Watch the video.

This final video is of the drummer, crowd surfing while playing his drum kit, outside the club. If I hadn’t seen it with my own eyes I would not have believed it.

Tags: , , ,

One Response to “MoFo TeeVee – Monotonix Live in P-Town 9/5/2008”

  1. MONOTONIX - Israeli Punk Band Tops MusicFest NW | Portland Metblogs Says:

    […] Walker at Badazzmofo.com who was at the show has video of this unbelieveable […]

Leave a Reply

