Yes, We DID!!!

коли под наем

I takes a lot to make me cry, but I could not hold back the tears. These were tears of joy and wonder, hope and faith. I must say, just twenty-seven days away from my 40th birthday that I never thought I would live to see this day. I’ve campaigned and championed and argued for Barack Obama, and I’ve fought to remain as optimistic and positive as I possibly could; but even this morning when I woke up, I had my doubts. In the back of my mind there lingered the gnawing thought of “what if?”. What if this country can’t rise up and move beyond the things that have kept us divided? What if the hope and possibility of change goes down in a crushing defeat of keeping things the way they’ve been? It was these gnawing thoughts they have been keeping me up at night, and sick to my stomach. And while there was at times a cloud of doubt and uncertainty, in my mind, and while there were moments when my soul was darkened by the bitterness, negativity and cynicism that I now realize has poisoned me for so many years, I never gave up hope.

One Response to “Yes, We DID!!!”

  1. miki Says:

    I was actually trying to pessimistic about the whole thing because I didn’t want to disappointed. There was so much more emotion riding on this. But when the electoral votes started rolling in in waves, it was hard not to tear up. It’s amazing. Totally absolutely amazing and what happened was the embodiment of the word hope. Big hugs to you and me and to America. (last sentence said with a twang)

    On the negative side of yesterday, I am now crushed by the passing of Prop 8 which shows another ugly side to our society. But we can’t win them all at once. It’s on to the good fight.

Leave a Reply

