Happy Birthday, Bonnie Walker

mom-bday

Today, May 4th, is the birthday of one my best friends in the entire world, my mom, Bonnie Walker. Some people might think it’s a bit strange that my mother is one of my best friends. And when I look at the relationships most of my friends share with their mothers, I guess maybe the friendship between my mom and me is a bit weird. We love watching kung fu movies together, and whenever we listen to “Blind with Anger” by The Goats, she sings along with the chorus, “That’s what happens when you’re blind with anger/They didn’t give a fuck, so I didn’t give a fuck.” When I turned 21, she got me my first tattoo, telling me, “No son of mine is going through life without a tattoo.” There are so many stories I could tell, but right now, the point I’m trying to make is that Bonnie Walker is just a really cool person, and that’s that. Sure, she has her problems, as we all do, and she’s far from perfect, as we all are, but when it comes to being a decent human being, she’s rock solid. I could not have picked a better mom if I had a choice, nor could I have picked a better friend to share this adventure of life with. And I just wanted everyone to know this, in case there was ever any doubt.

Leave a Reply

