Black Boys on the Corner

msicc

“I’m a little black boy and I don’t know my place. I’m just a little black boy, I just threw my ace. I’m a little black boy, recognize my face.” – Thin Lizzy
Yesterday afternoon I was forced to close the program that I’ve been running for the better part of six months. I was working with young people, most of them black and most of them boys and young men between the ages of 10 and 18. It was a great program, the kids in the program were great, and if I had my way, I’d be going back to work on Monday like nothing had happened. But that ain’t how it’s going to be. We’ve all been left to fend for ourselves.
Even though I’m moving on to a new, yet-to-be-determined adventure, I’m grateful for the opportunity I’ve had to work with the young people who participated in the program. As I was thinking about them last night, I thought of Phil Lynott, the black Irishman who was the lead vocalist and bass player for one of the greatest rock bands of all time, Thin Lizzy. Lynott lead a difficult life that tragically ended early. But he also lived life by his own rules, and refused to be anything other than who he wanted to be. One of the best songs he ever wrote was “Black Boys on the Corner.” Posted below is an alternative version that is significantly different than the version most of us know from the album Vagabonds of the Western World. Since this weekend is Thin Lizzy Weekend (all Thin Lizzy all the time), I’m dedicating this song to all the young people (boys and girls) that I had the pleasure of working with these last few months.

One Response to “Black Boys on the Corner”

  1. Panzergoob Says:

    Good luck and hopefully you’ll be able to find something you enjoy doing again.

Leave a Reply

